ASK THE OFFICIAL
The Charge Versus the Block
Written by: Ken Foster
November 20, 2008
One of the most difficult calls for an official is the block/charge. Typically, the action happens in a fraction of a second and an official has to make a split second judgment as to who committed the foul. Keeping it as simple as possible, in order for an offensive foul (charge) to be called, the defender must first establish a legal guarding position. That typically means both feet on the floor, facing the shooter, and not moving laterally before the offensive player’s shoulder makes contact with the defender. The one exception being that once the offensive player goes airborne, the defender has to give the offensive player a spot on the floor to land unobstructed. There can not be a defensive block if the defender is moving backwards, away from the oncoming offensive player.
An official must therefore determine, in a fraction of a second, was the defender’s guarding position legal (has to look at feet and defender’s motion) while at the same time noticing if the offensive player’s shoulder makes contact before, during, or after the defender gained his/her defensive position. No matter what you call, 50% of the people are going to think that you are blind!
Do you have a rule that you would like clarified? If so, submit your question to Ken Foster at kenfos@comcast.net